Things That Make Us Smile-Bookmarks

by Avant C

Books, books, and more books. I am a voracious reader and always need a book at hand. I’m not a literary snob though. I’ll read just about anything from the classics, to bestsellers, to a feel good chick lit. I could never read just one book at a time. I inconvenience myself by toting around a bunch of books with me that weigh a ton. Then Jerianne brought up the sacrilege that is the ebook device. I thought, no thanks. No ipad or kindle for me, until  Jerianne bought me one last Christmas.  I now have thousands of books ready at my fingertips. I am a convert, to some degree.  Nothing beats the real thing though. I do miss the feel of the book spine, the comforting smell, and the familiar, welcoming sound of the turning page. It never quite feels complete without the handy bookmark that peeks out from the top of a good book, which brings a smile to my face.  I want to share some of my favorites:

Fr top left clockwise: LLBean Cedarwood Sailboat, Tiffany & Co. Round Sterling Silver, Carrot & Stick Press “This Is Where I Fell Asleep,” Made by Jerianne.

I bought the L.L. Bean bookmark at the L.L Bean flagship store in Freeport, Maine during one of our summer road trips. The Tiffany’s bookmark clip was a Christmas gift from Jerianne. I thought the “This Is Where I Fell Asleep” bookmark was so adorable and bought it at a moving out sale from Carrot and Stick Press, which prints unique one-of-a-kind paper products, from stationary, notebooks,  gift cards, to placemats. Jerianne made one for me on my birthday years ago. It’s already so worn that I’m careful about using it.-c.c.

